The Federal Government on Wednesday placed a travel ban on 13 high-risk Coronavirus countries.

The countries are China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands, and Switzerland.

#EndSARS: Gov Obaseki gives escapees 48-hours to return to prisons

The government said the travel restriction was placed on countries with over a thousand cases of the novel Coronavirus.

It added that the ban would take effect on Friday, March 20 and it would last for four weeks and was subject to review.


The government also announced the temporary suspension of all visas issued to nationals from these countries.

181 Lagos students, staff test positive for COVID-19

Meanwhile, The Federal Ministry of Health has announced five new cases of coronavirus bringing the total number of confirmed cases in Nigeria to eight.

All the five new cases had a travel history to the United Kingdom and the United States.